thirty bees forum

Let's talk about email service providers

dynambee

Good email service is something that I think a lot of businesses struggle with. I know I have, and I've tried many solutions over the years.

For a long time I used Google Apps Standard Edition -- the free version that is no longer available for new signups. It's pretty good, but since I can't add it to new domains I'm pretty limited in how I can use it. I have a couple of domains on Google Apps paid but at $6 per account it can add up in a hurry (plus I don't really like forking money over to Google, they have plenty already.) One thing that the paid version does provide is push email, and the free version does not have this.

I also have my own mailserver set up, I use mailcow on a VULTR VM. It works quite well actually, and has push support. It also has calendaring and contacts. I've been running it for a couple of years now and it has proven to be stable with good update support. However I know if something goes wrong with it I will be up sh#t creek. I don't have the time to dedicate to fixing a broken mail server and mail is critical to a functioning business. There is also the problem of making sure my domains and IP don't end up on blacklists and this takes time too. Even so, some of the big mail providers will tag my outbound messages as spam.

All of this has resulted in a search for a better, more affordable mail solution. The most promising one I have found thus far is OpenSRS Hosted Email. It's cheap (50~60¢/month per account), seems to be robust, and the overall features are good for the money. The only drawback I see is no push support. I suppose I could live without that in the name of fixing all the other issues *but* I wonder if anyone here has any better options they could suggest?

Ideas?