thirty bees forum

Combinations unit price hidden on Niara theme

Jeffrey de Bruijn

Question

Hi again, I am still learning:

I would like to add a product with combinations to the catalog and I find the pricing settings confusing.

I'm doing this:

1. Create new product
2. In the Prices tab I set Unit price (tax excl.) 0 per g (I assign g to the unit field)
3. Add a combination with Impact on unit price increase of 5
4. Add a combination with Impact on unit price increase of 10

With this setup, the unit price is not displayed in the product page.

I looked at product.tpl and I see this smarty line:

{if !empty($product->unity) && $product->unit_price_ratio > 0.000000}

I am guessing that !empty($product->unity) evaluates to true, because I assigned a unit

$product->unit_price_ratio > 0.000000 evaluates to false because the base ratio remains 0

My understanding, as somebody who is new to thirty bees and does not know anything of smarty, is that the && evaluates to false and it is not re-evaluated when the default combination is automatically selected thus the unit price is never shown. Am I correct in this assumption? Why is the "$product->unit_price_ratio > 0.000000" in the condition?

Am I setting up prices in a way that shouldn't be done? I think thirty bees expects the base price to be set and then combinations used to modify the base price, but calculating prices that way is not very straight-forward.

P.S. Where can I find a list of all thirty bees variables that can be passed to smarty?

EDIT:

I was wrong and I am even more confused: changing 

to

{if !empty($product->unity)}

Does not make a difference, the unit price is still not displayed when the "base" unit price in the prices tab is set to 0 per g.

The complete if statement in product.tpl is the following:

{math equation="pprice / punit_price" pprice=$productPrice  punit_price=$product->unit_price_ratio assign=unit_price}