thirty bees forum

Why can a new customer group still see products when they cannot see categories?

Obi

Question

This is my first time attempting to utilize the customer groups feature and I'm having a little difficulty. What I am trying to accomplish is the addition of a dealer group that can purchase only certain products at the trade discount... I'm not sure I really want them to be able to purchase other products they receive no discount on.

So far I've configured the new group (modules and discounts by category) and the group has never been granted access to any of the other categories. But, I have to assume that I missed something because a test user in this group can still see products from categories they don't have access to - what am I missing please?

5 answers to this question

I don't know what I did, but it appears that it is now working pretty much the way I wanted it to.

However, I can't find this in the documentation, so a couple of questions:

1) Should the BO modules for things like "Data Mining for Statistics", "Spreadsheet Datasource", "Theme Configurator", etc. be turned off for Visitor and Guest groups?

2) I have the "Block Imageslider" turned on for All Groups currently, but is there a way I can REPLACE that module display (hooked at "displayTopColumn") with content using the "HTML Block", but ONLY for the Visitor and Guest groups?

Edited by Obi

Ok, it really is not working - at least not the way I would expect...