thirty bees forum

A complete newbie, what are thirtybees advantages ?

Zammo

Hey all. Okay, so I know it is a fork and was created by people who wanted 1.6 to be kept on due to 1.7 changing dramatically and removing features, but, what I find hard to find info on is what exactly does it mean ? I have a 1.6 store and was eyeing up moving to 1.7 but what advantages do I have going to thirtybees instead of 1.7 (apart from a more awesome community of course) now that many 1.6 modules have been updated to work with 1.7 and given I am also happy to change my theme ?

What are the positives and negatives ? That would be the best FAQ, to see what I gain and what I lose. I notice the documentation pages say it is compatible with almost every 1.6 module and theme, that is great, but now things have moved on 4 years since 1.7 came out, do we lose anything that 1.7 users gain with themes ? As I guess not many theme developers are making new 1.6 themes. So I guess I mean is there anything 1.7 themes can do that 1.6 can't even with thirtybees ?

Nearly all videos on thirtybees on Youtube in English seem to be 3+ years old so it is hard to find visual info that is up to date.

Any info appreciated, thanks :)

Hi

This is my opinion, it is not about keeping on the 1.6 version, but about getting rid f the amazing amount of troubles and lacks in prestashop + getting rid of a company that did a good job creating/developing prestashop but also kept in it a lot of nonsense and caused many troubles in the time.

One of the things they did that the more kept punching in the eyes is how version after version same bugs and inconsistencies where left there and how bad was their update system.

Personally I always had a double feeling about prestashop, good on a side and a nightmare on the other.