thirty bees forum

30🐝 Vs PS for a newb

OwainD

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newb when it comes to e-commerce selling and before I go down a road that will take time and energy I want to figure out the platform that suits me best

I'm an open source obsessive so I'd like to support am OS platform. Are 30bees and prestashop the best options? I note that Woo is also open source but their cheapest option is way out of my budget.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

IMHO TB is far better option than PS8, Woo or Magento if you're just starting.

It scales well, there are plenty of modules available (both free and paid) and if some of the themes from TB does not work 'design-wise' for you there are many PS1.6 themes that will work just fine (few simple tweaks by any php dev here and there in order to make them php8 ready) and you're good to go.

OS is fine but supporting the project is vital for it's future development. So if you choose TB and you fall in love with it down the road please consider supporting the developers that keep the core bugfree and running on the latest server software.

Cheers!

Rest assured on my support; I'm a vocal advocate of open source in policy, a translator on a number of projects and have donated thousands of euros to a range of projects over the years 🀝

I'm interested in drop shipping art products, does anyone have experience of this with 30🐝 in the UK?

• 4 weeks later...

Thirtybees is almost cheapest, but costs a few Β£$€ monthly in server space