thirty bees forum

Add extra field to product selection in admin orders

b_otho

Question

Hi everyone,

I've been struggling to make an extra field visible in the dropdown box that shows up after searching for a product to add in the admin order view.

I'm pretty new to Thirty Bees but managed to add my own fields to products, product lists, imports etc. But I can't seem to figure this out.

Any help is much appreciated.

15 answers to this question

I have made a "title" field on my products. I sell vinyl records and CD's, and the product name is the artist, and my custom title field is the name of their record. Because of this I have severals product with the same name. When I then search for products to add when creating orders in the back office, I get multiple results with same name. That's why it would nice to add my title field to the results. Hope it makes sense.

@b_otho

Alternatively, I do not know if you need, for example, information in the manufacturer lists or supplier lists. If they are invisible / deactivated for the customer, then use them, for example. you can use artist as manufacturer or supplier. So you can separately customize the product list view and filter such as from this topic: https://forum.thirtybees.com/topic/1223/product-list-bo-with-manufacturers-and-suppliers-columns

@wakabayashi: I see your point. The only reason I'm not writing it as "artist - album name" is because I need to be able to export csv files with the two fields in their own columns. Otherwise it would make my life so much easier also with friendly urls, how it appears on invoices etc...

@zimmer-media: I'm going to use either manufacturer or supplier as the record label, haven't decided on which one yet, but I guess I could use the one left as my artist. I'll look into that. I've already added my own custom field, as mentioned in the post you link to, so it's not a problem for me to edit that list and add extra fields if needed.