thirty bees forum

Creating a bash script to install thirty bees on a USD 2.50/month VPS

Yeku

Question

Hi folks. I am a newbie. Please pardon my for being presumptuous but....

have you guys considered creating a bash script that would enable non-technical users to provision a "plain vanilla VPS" with a live installation of thirty bees?

By "plain vanilla VPS" I mean one that does not have any applications installed on it except for those included with the operating system such as CentOS 7.x. In other words, I am imagining a bash script that would install:

• nginx 1.12.x
  • MariaDB 10.2.x
  • PHP 7.1x
  • the required and recommended PHP extensions
  • the recommended thirty bees php.ini settings
  • and any other necessary items

See, CentOS 7: Nginx, MariaDB Installation script led me to avitex/centos7psinstall.sh which enabled me to successfully install PrestaCart 1.6x (along with Nginx and MariaDB) on a USD 2.50/month (two US dollars and fifty cents per month) plain vanilla VPS with 1 CPU and 512MB 500GB in no more than 15 minutes by doing the following:

• Logging in to my inexpensive USD 2.50 per month account at my ISP.
  • “Spinning up” (that is to say, creating) a new CentOS 7.x server with a three clicks (had I chosen the default server in Miami it would have only taken me two clicks). That took me less than 10 seconds. I am not exaggerating.
  • Opening a terminal in Linux.
  • Entering ssh root@the_domain_my_ISP_instantly_assigned_to_my_new_CentOS7.x_server

• Entering the password my ISP assigned to my new CentOS 7.x server.

• Entering: bash -c "$(wget -O - https://gist.githubusercontent.com/avitex/ea35054b28530b3b3fd482c7232b47f1/raw)"

• in the same terminal I had logged into in previous two steps.

• Answering a few questions and following the instructions at prompts in the same terminal I ran the bash script in the previous step.