thirty bees forum

5 years on Prestashop (1.7.8.2 now)... Is it worth migrating to TB?

vallka

Hi everybody here. Just recently discovered TB... and got such a deja vu... We have migrated our PS website from 1.6 to 1.7 in 2018 and it was such a pain and disappointment... But we have survived. And at that time I really had the idea to fork PS and start my own version based oh PS 1.6.... never happened of cause, but you did it :) Congrats!

So now I'm aware of TB and could it be a good idea to migrate 'back" from PS 1.7.8.2? I'm an experienced developer, now I know a lot of PS details, fixed a few bugs here and there... Our main problem is - yes, you guess it - it is impossible to get anything from PS team. All my requests were un-answered, all my fixes and correction rejected (well, apart from a very little one (https://github.com/PrestaShop/productcomments/pull/124)

Unresolved issues are (some of them I have fixed for myself using overrides):

• Impossible to use mobile_detect in module templates (Front office) (ok in theme templates but doesn't work in module templates (https://github.com/PrestaShop/PrestaShop/issues/21661))
  • Problems with PayPal and Laybuy in Safari (and most probably elsewhere) due to the old bug in Safari browser with cookie header "SameSite"
  • Inconsistent calculation if %% discounts in orders. It has radically changed from PS 1.6 to 1.7 - and it causes severe problems with some payment providers like Klarna or Laybuy (https://dev.to/vallka/laybuy-against-prestashop-193l) - these payment modules are not aware of the change and simply refuse to work with %% discounts! For more then 3 years now!!!
  • Same or similar issues with discount figures and delivery costs in invoices, the numbers are still inconsistent in some cases
  • Some bugs are never fixed in payment modules like Stripe and Klarna for years. These modules are not developed by PS so I don't even know who to address these...