thirty bees forum

Elastic Search module

vincentdenkspel

Hi,

Lately there is activity on the forum from people who are trying to get the Elastic Search module working.
Most of them, if not all, did not succeed and are looking for alternatives.
I'm not a developer but from what i understand one of the problems is because the module is still in beta.
I think (most) alternatives will cost money.
I was thinking: instead of looking for paid alternatives this money could also be use to help funding so complete
the project so we would have a working version of the ES module.

I already supported the initial crowdfunding project, but i would certainly be interested to invest a little bit more.

So my questions are :
- Would other people be interested in doing so ?
- Would one of the main developers be interested to complete the module ?
- If so, can a indication be given how much it would cost to complete the module ?

Looking forward to hear what others think of the idea ?

Best regards,

Vincent

Edited by vincentdenkspel
  • Like 2

I'm not sure if this module is worth the trouble. I mean, it can be extremely useful for anyone with huge amount of products, but it's not for an ordinary merchants. I believe there is less than 5% of the tb community that actually have needs for it. And these merchants can usually afford to purchase some commercial alternative, one that comes with support. Or they can hire developer to set this module for them.

I'm not against another crowdfunding project, but it would be better if it was something useful for entire community. Maybe some advanced order editing module, dran'n'drop cms page builder, shortcode system to use in html editor, or whatnot.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, datakick said:

but it's not for an ordinary merchants.

I don't now if this is true. If i'm not mistaken one of the functionalities of the module was the 'advaced search' functionality ( product x in category y with features K AND L AND M AND N).