thirty bees forum

Security issue - password sent in mail

Norwegian_Rat

i don't like them either, but if it is needed to better secure clients, I really don't care. There might be better options. I'm no expert at all regarding this. I've just read that getting passwords in mails is preposterous, and thus being a dealbreaker for running a project on the platform.

• 8 months later...

Sorry for bumping an old thread, but as far as I can see, there is still a big unresolved issue here.

In the guesttocustomer.html email template the password tag has been replaced with asterisks (******), so how does the new user get his password? In the password.html email template the {passwd} tag is still there, giving the user the ability to see his password, but at the same time it poses a potential security risk.

I think a solution to this issue should be of high priority.

A link to set your own password would definitely be a nice feature, but one should be aware that this solution is only slightly safer compared to the current solution. If a user's e-mail account is hacked, the hacker will still be able to access the user's webshop account by simply requesting a new password in the store and then clicking the reset-password-link sent to the user.

As long as the shop doesn't store credit card information, I would say that a reset-password-link solution would be sufficient, but for shops that allow logged in users to complete purchases with a saved credit card, another layer of security (e.g. security questions) could be necessary.

• 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

so for now the question is: how can we get the pw in emails back when converting a guest account to a real one (guesttocustomer.html email template)? right now they get an email with the pw showing as "*****" and they obviously can't log in, so it's pretty useless. what's the official statement here and is there a solution/commit for this on git? (couldn't find anything)